Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Breadth Governance Board

Main content start

Board Membership 2023-24

Chair and Vice Chair

  • Hideo Mabuchi, Chair, BGB; Applied Physics
  • Aliya Saperstein, Vice-chair, BGB; Sociology

Board Members

  • Justin Du Bois, Chemistry
  • Kayvon Fatahalian, Computer Science
  • Miyako Inoue, Anthropology
  • Amy Freed, Theater Arts Performance Studies
  • Jamie Meltzer, Art and Art History
  • Mark McGurl, English
  • Benoit Monin, Psychology
  • Aliya Saperstein, Sociology
  • Mikael Wolfe, History
  • Anusha Dwarkanath, Student, Undeclared
  • Claudia Sung, Student, Undeclared
  • Angeline Yu, Student, Undeclared


  • Kirsti Copeland, School of Engineering
  • Kate Maher, Chair, C-USP; Earth System Sience
  • Johanna Metzgar, Registrar
  • Richard Nevle, School of Sustainability
  • Sharon Palmer, Office of Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Susan Weersing, School of Humanities and Sciences


In 2012, the Study of Undergraduate Education at Stanford (SUES) recommended the change to a new Ways of Thinking/Ways of Doing (Ways) breadth system as a core part of its aims for a Stanford undergraduate education (owning knowledge, honing skills and capacities, developing personal and social responsibility, and adaptive learning).  SUES and the Faculty Senate believed that undergraduate education would be better structured by shifting from a discipline-based to a skills capacity-based model of achieving breadth. The Ways system is a Faculty Senate mandated program with a Charge to the Breadth Governance Board that oversees the Ways program.