Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Undergraduate Advisory Council (UGAC)

Main content start


Established in 1996, the Undergraduate Advisory Council serves as the main faculty advisory body for the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education. The council plays a vital role in guiding the efforts of the VPUE to shape undergraduate education at Stanford.

2021-22 Committee Membership

Ad Hoc Members

  • Jonathan Berger, Music
  • Lisa Blaydes, Political Science
  • Martha Cyert, Biology
  • Shashank Joshi, Psychiatry
  • Kate Maher, Earth System Science
  • Hazel Markus, Psychology
  • Rafe Mazzeo, Math
  • Grant Parker, Classics
  • Dusty Schroeder, Geophysics
  • Keith Schwarz, Computer Science 

Ex Officio Members

  • Susie Brubaker-Cole, Vice Provost for Student Affairs
  • Gordon Chang, School of Humanities & Sciences
  • Sarah Church, Chair, UGAC, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Heather Hadlock, Music
  • Tom Kenny, School of Engineering
  • Johanna Metzgar, Registrar
  • Mary Beth Mudgett, Co-chair of Academic Continuity
  • Shari Palmer, VPUE
  • Debra Satz, School of Humanities & Sciences
  • John Taylor, Economics
  • Tiziana Vanorio, Geophysics
  • Laura Wittman, Chair, Committee on Review of Undergraduate Majors